"I can't believe I..." (on-air faux pas)

If it's about broadcasting, radio, TV, satellite, cable, this is where to talk about it.

Moderators: Hoosier Daddy, The People's DJ, Arp2

LtDunsel

"I can't believe I..." (on-air faux pas)

Post by LtDunsel »

Tell on yourself, what stupid things have you done?

I was a 17 yr old HS student, and had been working the evening shift at a 1000 watt day/250 watt night AM for maybe a month, my first radio gig. It'd been raining HARD for a week, and the creeks and streams were about ready to overflow. As a student, I was anxiously waiting for "the call" that school the next day would be cancelled. (Not to mention the non-stop calls coming in with the inevitible "is there school tomorrow?" question)

And eventually, the call DID come in. "This is _____, school superintendent, and I'd like you to announce that school tomorrow is cancelled."

So I immediately went on air after every record and made the announcement, answering every phone call with, "Yes, you heard right, school tomorrow has been cancelled."

After about an hour the phone rings, dude asks, "Have you been announcing that school tomorrow has been cancelled?" Naturally, smiling from ear to ear, I replied in the affirmative. "And where did you get that information?" And of course, being the "professional broadcaster" that I was, I replied, "The school supt. called." To which he replied, "No, I'm the supt, and I didn't call. The password is _____, and there IS school tomorrow."

I'd been "played" by a couple of HS seniors who called in...sigh. So NOW I have to go on-air, and announce that "there WILL be school tomorrow," and deal with the repurcussions. (MORE phone calls ensue, yada yada yada). The PD just laughed, gave me the "these things happen, don't worry" schpiel, reminded me that I'd been advised that there was a list of passwords for this kind of thing, "make sure you use it from now on, this is a lesson you won't forget."